2011 European Skyrunning Championships

International SkyRace Switzerland. Photo:  LongLightThe second European Skyrunning Championships will feature a SkyRace® in Switzerland and a Vertical Kilometer® in Spain with individual, combined and team titles at stake.  ISF European member nations eligible for ranking are:  Andorra, Azerbaijan, Bulgaria, Great Britain, Greece, France, Italy, Portugal, Russia, Spain and Switzerland.

The first event on June 12 welcomes back an all-time favourite with top skyrunners, the Swiss International SkyRace®, site of the first European Championships in 2007 before the formation of the ISF in 2008. 

The Puig Campana Vertical Kilometer®  in Valencia will host the second European event on November 5 and the final for the combined individual and team titles.

Puig Campana Vertical KilometerThe  European Skyrunning Championships, held every two years, were celebrated in 2009 in the Italian Dolomites at the Dolomites SkyRace® where the team gold medal went to Italy, the silver to Spain and Great Britain took the bronze.

Race details:
International SkyRace® – Poschiavo, Switzerland June 12
The fast, demanding 30 km International SkyRace®  runs along an ancient smugglers’ route, starting in Lanzada, Val Malenco, Italy.   The course ascends 1,850m to the Campagneda Pass at 2,627m, the highest point of the race, before descending to the charming town of Poschiavo in Switzerland.  The men’s record stands at 2h46’24” and the women’s 3h33’19”.  www.international-skyrace.org 
Vertical Kilometer® del Puig Campana -Valencia, Spain, November 5
One thousand metres elevation gain over 3.650 km distance – that’s the explosive Vertical Kilometer®  in Valencia, Spain.   With inclines up to 35.5%, it represents a real challenge.  The timed race section starts at 380m to the summit of the Puig Campana at 1,408m, although the full course which starts and finishes in Finestrat, is an 8.2 km loop with the descent at the runners’ own pace. www.puigcampana.com

See here for ranking after the first leg of the Championships and SkyRace® Eurpean Champions.

See here for International SkyRace® news

2011 European ChampiionshipsEuropean Skyrunning Championship rules:

The races are open to individual athletes who possess a medical certificate for competitive sports and national teams but only those belonging to ISF national member federations or associations will be ranked in the European Skyrunning Championship. Men’s and women’s individual titles will be assigned in each of the two disciplines while national team titles will be based on the combined results

CONTINENTAL CHAMPIONSHIPS GENERAL RULES The European Championships are open only to official national teams  that belong to a full ISF Member nation. However, national teams belonging to countries where no full ISF member exists, may participate with the permission of the ISF Board, providing all relevant documents. An extra registration fee, set by the ISF, is payable, and the ISF rules and regulations must be strictly adhered to. Only one team will be allowed per nation. Each National Team is responsible for registering their competitors in Continental Championships. All team members must be of  the nationality of the country they represent. 

NATIONAL TEAMS The official national team of each country must be declared on the  ISF official form at the beginning of the Championships and updated only for registering new members at least 12 hours before each race. Each team may be composed of a minimum of two to a maximum of 12 components (mixed gender). A registered team member cannot be replaced by another that is not participating in the European Championships.  All members of each team must be identified by the same kit or logo. 

REGISTRATION For all ISF Continental Championships national teams must register via their ISF full member association. Team members must belong to the country they represent (no foreign members). Skyrunners with dual nationality must select one nationality to represent at the beginning of each season. 

INDIVIDUAL POINTS SYSTEM Each race will assign points based on the winning men’s/women’s results according to the “Ranking points breakdown: 100-88-78-72-68-66-64-62-60-58-56-54-52-50 down to 2 points and down to the 40th position for men and 15th position for women”. In the event of a tie, the best result in the last race will be counted in the General Ranking. 

NATIONAL TEAMS POINTS SYSTEM A team ranking system will be adopted based on the individual points accrued by the first three men and the first woman of the same team in each race obtained in all Championship  races.

TITLES  The first three men and women with the most points will be awarded the “Skyrunning European Champion”  combined titles and the three European national teams with the most points will be awarded the team title and gold, silver and bronze medals.

2009 results